New Fortune Chinese Restaurant

New Fortune has been around since 1998 and my family has been coming here for almost longer as I can remember.  My first memories of dim sum are here and even to this day we still come here. I have seen the food here ebb and flow and unfortunately, this restaurant is in an ebbing mood as of late, but the food is still decent.

Image

Some of the dim sum that we usually get and the staples of any dim sum experience. There’s har gow or crystal shrimp dumplings, siu mai or pork dumplings and beef dumplings. The har gow and siu mai have been my favorites since my first bite of dim sum and it’s not a great dim sum experience without them.

Image

This is called wu tau kau or taro dumpling. It’s not for everyone, but it’s awesome and delicious. I say it’s not for everyone because the main ingredient is taro, and not many people like taro. These are my middle sister’s favorite. She eats one whole order just by herself and if I want any, I have to get another order to share with my family.

Image

 This is one of my favorite dishes, ha churn fun or shrimp noodle roll. It is shrimp wrapped in long rice noodles drenched in soy sauce. Delicious!

It’s not the best food, but I certainly love it. If you want good service, go with someone who speaks Chinese. It’s sad but usually true that you get better service if you know the language.

New Fortune

16515 S Frederick Ave
Gaithersburg, MD 20877

(301) 548-8886

2 thoughts on “New Fortune Chinese Restaurant

Leave a Reply

